Aatifa explained: benefits, limits and the fine print
Etiqa's Aatifa is a savings takaful plan accepted without underwriting, paying regular cash through the term plus a maturity lump sum. Here is what the operator publishes, and what to check.
Aatifa is a family takaful savings plan from Etiqa, structured to pay cash at intervals during the term rather than only at maturity, with a death benefit and an accidental death benefit built in. What sets it apart from a typical protection-first takaful certificate is that it is accepted without underwriting, and its entry ages run unusually wide.
What Etiqa publishes about the plan
According to Etiqa's own product page and the sample disclosure sheet, Aatifa offers:
- A maturity cash payout, plus regular cash payouts made through the term of the certificate.
- Guaranteed approval, with no underwriting required β a distinguishing feature against plans that require health disclosures or medical examination.
- Death coverage, plus an accidental death benefit, included as standard.
- A person covered from as young as 14 days old up to 60 years old at entry.
- A participant (the person who pays the contributions) from age 17, with no stated maximum age.
On the product page and disclosure sheet we reviewed, Etiqa does not publish the specific premium payment term, certificate term, minimum contribution amount, illustrated returns, or a guaranteed cash value figure β the page describes contributions as flexible and affordable without a stated minimum, and directs the actual payout structure and figures to the product disclosure sheet.
What the disclosure sheet governs β and why that matters more than usual here
Because several key figures for Aatifa β the exact payout amounts, the premium term, and the certificate term β are not stated on the public product page, the product disclosure sheet is not just a backstop here; it is where the plan's actual economics live. Before buying, ask your agent or the operator directly for the disclosure sheet appropriate to your entry age and intended contribution, and treat any illustrated figures in a sales presentation as subject to that document, not the marketing page. Figures shown to you can change between the date this article was written and the date you apply, so confirm the current terms directly with Etiqa or a licensed representative.
What "guaranteed approval" changes about the decision
A plan accepted without underwriting removes the health-disclosure step that can otherwise delay or complicate a purchase, which is a genuine convenience, particularly for a participant buying cover for a child or an older family member who might not pass full underwriting elsewhere. It typically comes with a trade-off in product design β savings-type takaful plans without underwriting are often priced and structured more conservatively than fully underwritten alternatives, so it is worth asking specifically how the payout structure compares with an underwritten savings plan of similar contribution size, rather than assuming "no underwriting" is a feature without any corresponding difference elsewhere in the design.
What to check generally before choosing a savings-type takaful or insurance plan
- The actual premium term and certificate term, since these are not stated on the public page for this product and materially affect what you are committing to.
- How the regular cash payouts during the term are calculated, and whether they are guaranteed or depend on the performance of the underlying takaful fund.
- The maturity benefit structure, and whether any portion of it is guaranteed versus dependent on fund performance or surplus.
- What happens if you stop paying contributions partway through the term, including any surrender value.
- How the accidental death benefit interacts with the base death coverage β whether it is additional to, or already included within, the base sum covered.
Compare Aatifa against other savings and endowment-style plans on our savings plan comparison.
Not a recommendation
This article describes what Etiqa publishes about Aatifa; it is not a claim that the plan is the best, cheapest or most suitable savings takaful available. Whether the no-underwriting structure and interim cash payouts suit your goals depends on the specific figures in the disclosure sheet for your entry age and contribution level.
Talk to an advisor
Because several of Aatifa's core figures are not published on the general product page, working through the actual disclosure sheet with someone qualified matters more than usual for this plan. A licensed advisor can request the current figures for your circumstances and compare them with alternatives. Use the portal's matching to find one, or ask our assistant to help you read the disclosure sheet once you have it.
Sources
This content is educational information from a licensed advisor, not financial advice. Product details vary by insurer β verify specifics with an advisor.