AdvisorPortal
← Learn·✎ ArticleΒ·Critical IllnessΒ·2026-06-30

Etiqa Critical Care Plus Insurance explained: benefits, limits and the fine print

A standalone critical illness plan paid for from your EPF savings rather than cash, covering 42 illnesses with no medical check-up. Here is what the published material says.

Critical illness plans usually come with two barriers for buyers: a medical check-up, and premiums that compete with the household budget in cash. Etiqa's Critical Care Plus takes a different approach on both counts by drawing premiums directly from the buyer's EPF savings under the i-Lindung scheme, and by skipping the medical check-up altogether. What follows is a look at what the plan actually covers, based on Etiqa's own published product material, and what a buyer should check before assuming a benefit applies to their situation.

What the plan is

Critical Care Plus is a standalone critical illness plan β€” its benefit is not attached to a life insurance or investment-linked policy, but stands on its own, covering 42 critical illnesses including cancer, stroke and heart attack. Two features define how it is bought and paid for: premiums are taken by direct withdrawal from the member's EPF account rather than by cash payment, and there is no medical check-up required at application, which lowers the friction of buying compared to a plan that requires full underwriting.

The plan also covers family members beyond the EPF member: a spouse can be added, and children from as young as 14 days old up to 16 years can be covered alongside the member.

The core benefit and how claims stack

On diagnosis of one of the 42 covered critical illnesses, the plan pays the sum insured chosen at application. On top of that core benefit, Etiqa's published material describes a Cancer Care Benefit that adds a further 50% of the sum insured specifically on a cancer diagnosis, provided the insured survives 30 days from diagnosis β€” effectively a second payout layered on top of the main critical illness benefit rather than replacing it.

There is also a separate Communicable Disease Cash Allowance of RM300, paid on diagnosis of a covered communicable disease, which is a fixed cash amount rather than a percentage of the sum insured.

Early and intermediate stage conditions

Not every covered condition pays the full sum insured at diagnosis. According to the published material, early-stage conditions β€” including Early Stage Cancer, angioplasty and other invasive treatments for coronary artery disease, severe mental illness, and diabetes mellitus complications β€” pay only 10% of the sum covered, capped at RM25,000. A diagnosis falling into this early or intermediate category will not trigger the full sum insured; the exact mechanics of how this interacts with a later, full-stage diagnosis are a matter for the master policy rather than the summary page.

Age limits and how long cover runs

Entry age for the EPF member and spouse runs from 17 to 65, and for children, from 14 days old to 16 years. Cover for the member and spouse runs up to age 70; for children, cover runs to age 25, or ends earlier if the member's own cover expires first. A buyer close to either end of these age bands should confirm their specific eligibility and how long their cover will actually run before assuming a particular horizon.

What is not stated on the published page

Etiqa's own product page does not state a waiting period for the plan, and the published material directs buyers to the master policy for that detail rather than stating it on the summary page itself β€” a reminder that the master policy and Product Disclosure Sheet, not the summary page, govern a claim if a question arises about timing or wording.

Comparing this plan against other standalone critical illness cover

Buyers considering Critical Care Plus should weigh a few general questions that apply to any standalone critical illness plan, not just this one:

  1. Does drawing premiums from EPF savings, rather than paying cash, suit your retirement savings strategy, given that it reduces the EPF balance available at retirement?
  2. Does the list of 42 covered illnesses include the conditions most relevant to your own family history?
  3. How does the 10% early-stage cap, up to RM25,000, compare with other plans' early-stage payout structures?
  4. What waiting period applies, per the master policy, before a claim becomes payable?

Our plan comparison tool is a reasonable way to see how this plan's structure compares with other standalone critical illness products.

Figures can change β€” check the current material

The benefits, ages and figures described here come from Etiqa's published product page and Product Disclosure Sheet as they stood at the time this article was written. Insurers update pricing, terms and covered conditions from time to time, and the product's own disclosure sheet, master policy and other documents always take precedence over any third-party summary β€” including this one β€” if a figure or term appears to have changed. Confirm the current terms directly with Etiqa or a licensed advisor before making a decision. This article does not suggest Critical Care Plus is the best or cheapest plan available; it is a summary of one option to compare against others.

Talk to an advisor

Whether an EPF-funded standalone critical illness plan fits your situation depends on your retirement savings plan as much as on the illness list itself. A licensed advisor on our platform can walk through how drawing premiums from EPF would affect your long-term savings, and our assistant can explain any clause in the Product Disclosure Sheet you would like clarified.

Sources

This content is educational information from a licensed advisor, not financial advice. Product details vary by insurer β€” verify specifics with an advisor.

Nurul Hassan profile photo
Nurul Hassanβœ“ Verified advisor
Term Life Β· Investment-Linked Β· Medical Β· Critical Illness Β· Motor Β· Travel Β· Property Β· Commercial
View profile & ask a question β†’