CareShield Standard explained: benefits, limits and the fine print
Singlife's CareShield Standard is a two-ADL CareShield Life supplement with a choice of fixed or escalating payouts. Here is what the insurer's published material says it covers.
CareShield Standard is Singlife's entry-level CareShield Life supplement, sitting alongside its CareShield Plus tier. Both share the same core benefit design; Standard and Plus differ mainly in the level of cover rather than the structure. This explainer works from Singlife's published product page and disclosure sheet.
What it supplements
Like other CareShield Life supplements, this plan is bought on top of an existing CareShield Life or ElderShield policy, not in place of it. It raises the payout you would receive on a qualifying long-term care claim, and its terms are set by Singlife rather than by the Government, unlike the base national scheme.
The claim trigger
Singlife's published page sets CareShield Standard's claim trigger at inability to perform at least two activities of daily living β a lower threshold than CareShield Life's own three-of-six requirement. This means the supplement can begin paying at a stage of disability where the base national scheme would not yet qualify, which is one of the main reasons buyers add a supplement in the first place.
What the plan pays
According to the product page and disclosure sheet:
- A monthly payout, chosen at purchase as either a fixed amount or one that escalates. Singlife offers an optional 2% or 3% yearly escalation as an alternative to a flat payout, letting a buyer choose between a lower starting premium with a static benefit, or a higher premium that keeps pace better with rising care costs over time.
- A lump sum equal to three times the monthly benefit, paid in addition to the ongoing monthly payout.
- Premium waiver at mild disability β premiums are waived once the insured is assessed with a mild disability, ahead of a full claim being admitted.
- Caregiver relief and dependant benefits, described on the product page as part of the plan's add-on structure, alongside further add-on benefits Singlife has introduced since launch.
The page does not state how long the monthly payout continues once a claim is admitted; check the current disclosure sheet or ask Singlife directly for this detail before assuming it matches CareShield Life's lifetime payout structure.
Terms and conditions
- Entry age: 30 to 64, on an age-at-last-birthday basis.
- Deferment period: 90 days from certification of severe disability.
- Premium payment term: payable to the policy anniversary after age 98, or on a limited-pay basis to age 68 or 20 years from entry, depending on the option chosen.
- MediSave payment: premiums can be paid from MediSave up to S$600 per calendar year, with any excess payable in cash.
What is not published here
Singlife's page does not state a published price for CareShield Standard, since the premium depends on the entry age, the monthly benefit level, the escalation option chosen, and the premium term selected. A current quote from Singlife or an advisor is the only reliable way to get an actual premium figure.
What actually governs the policy
Singlife publishes a product disclosure sheet, a policy contract, and separate terms and conditions documents covering various promotional periods, along with an add-on benefits FAQ and a declaration document. Where the marketing page and these documents differ, the disclosure sheet and policy contract are what actually apply at claim time, so it is worth reading them, particularly the sections on the claim trigger definitions and any promotional terms that may have applied when you bought the policy.
Standard versus Plus, and comparing across insurers
Since Singlife also sells a Plus tier with the same overall structure at a higher level of cover, and other insurers sell their own CareShield Life supplements with different claim triggers, escalation options and lump sum structures, the useful comparison is rarely "is this plan good" but rather how its specific parameters β the 2 activities of daily living trigger, the 2% or 3% escalation choice, and the 3x lump sum β line up against an alternative you are considering. Compare current long-term care supplements at /compare/singapore/long-term-care.
Talk to an advisor
Because figures here reflect the insurer's own published material as at the date shown and premiums are quoted individually, a licensed advisor can pull a current quote and confirm the plan's payout duration and claim definitions before you buy. Use the portal's advisor matching to find one who covers long-term care insurance.
Sources
This content is educational information from a licensed advisor, not financial advice. Product details vary by insurer β verify specifics with an advisor.