AdvisorPortal
← Learn·✎ ArticleΒ·MedicalΒ·2026-08-29

i-Great Medi Care explained: benefits, limits and the fine print

i-Great Medi Care is a standalone online medical takaful plan with zero co-takaful and an RM100,000 annual limit. Here is what Great Eastern Takaful's published material says it covers.

i-Great Medi Care is a standalone medical takaful certificate from Great Eastern Takaful, sold directly online rather than through a face-to-face application, and structured as pure medical protection with no savings or investment component attached. It covers hospitalisation and surgical treatment up to age 80, and the published figures around it are specific enough to be worth going through in detail.

What it covers, and the limits attached

The certificate provides medical coverage for hospitalisation and surgical treatment, structured around an annual claim limit of RM100,000 and a room and board benefit of RM200 per day. There is no deductible on the plan, and no co-takaful applies, meaning the contributor is not required to bear a percentage of each claim on top of what the certificate pays β€” a feature worth noting since co-takaful or co-insurance is common enough elsewhere in the market that its absence here is a genuine distinguishing feature rather than a default.

Treatment is accessed through the operator's panel of hospitals, and no medical examination is required to apply, which lowers the friction of applying online but is also a reminder that underwriting for pre-existing conditions is typically handled through the application questions rather than a medical check-up. As a takaful certificate rather than a conventional insurance policy, participants are entitled to a share of any underwriting surplus and investment profit generated by the fund, consistent with how family and medical takaful products are structured more generally, rather than that surplus being retained entirely by the operator.

Waiting periods to know before you apply

The certificate applies a 30-day waiting period for other illness and a longer 120-day waiting period specifically for what Great Eastern Takaful terms specified illness β€” a defined list of conditions set out in the certificate documents that insurers commonly treat with more caution for early claims. If you are applying because of an imminent or anticipated procedure, check the specified illness list in the actual certificate documents rather than assuming a diagnosis falls outside it.

What the product page does not state

Great Eastern Takaful's page does not publish a headline contribution rate for this plan, which is standard for medical products since pricing depends on age, gender and the coverage tier selected at application β€” get a current quotation directly rather than relying on any estimate you may see elsewhere. The published material also does not state a lifetime limit separate from the annual claim limit, so the RM100,000 figure appears to apply on a yearly rather than lifetime basis according to what is published, though this is worth confirming directly against the certificate wording for your specific plan tier if one exists.

What actually governs

The product page is a summary of the plan's headline features. The Product Disclosure Sheet and the certificate documents are what set out the actual definitions, the specified illness list, and the exclusions that apply at claim time, and where this article and those documents differ, the certificate documents govern. Great Eastern Takaful's published material is dated, and medical products in particular are periodically repriced or amended, so check that you are reading the current version of the disclosure sheet before relying on the RM100,000 or RM200 figures cited here.

What to check against any other medical card, takaful or conventional

Whether you are looking at this plan specifically or comparing medical cards generally, the same points are worth checking every time: whether the annual limit and room and board figure suit the hospital tier you would actually use, what the specified illness list under the 120-day waiting period includes, and whether the plan's panel network reaches the hospitals you would realistically choose. Because this plan has no deductible and no co-takaful, it is also worth comparing its contribution rate against plans that do apply cost-sharing, since removing those features from a plan typically means a higher contribution to compensate. Our plan comparison for medical cards sets this plan's limits against both takaful and conventional alternatives.

This article summarises i-Great Medi Care as described in Great Eastern Takaful's own published product page and disclosure sheet as of the date shown in that material. It is not a claim that this plan is the cheapest or most suitable medical takaful certificate for any particular applicant, and the operator's own certificate documents override anything summarised here.

Talk to an advisor

Standalone medical takaful plans like this one differ from group or bundled medical cards in ways that matter at claim time, particularly around panel access and the specified illness list. A licensed advisor can check the current certificate documents against your own health history before you apply. Use the portal's advisor matching to find one who covers medical takaful, or ask our assistant to walk through this plan's waiting periods and limits.

Sources

This content is educational information from a licensed advisor, not financial advice. Product details vary by insurer β€” verify specifics with an advisor.

Nurul Hassan profile photo
Nurul Hassanβœ“ Verified advisor
Term Life Β· Investment-Linked Β· Medical Β· Critical Illness Β· Motor Β· Travel Β· Property Β· Commercial
View profile & ask a question β†’